close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Planning Board

Planning Board of Avon-by-the-Sea
301 Main Street
Avon-by-the-Sea, NJ 07717
Office- 732-502-4510 / Fax- 732-774-0605
Sheila Sullivan, Planning Board Secretary

Avon-By-The-Sea Notice Planning Board Meeting January 25, 2022, 7:00 PM Zoom Meeting Notice

In accordance with the rules and regulations of the Open Public Meetings Law, please be advised that the Planning Board meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 25, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. by means of electronic communication equipment only.  To access the meeting, you may go to the Zoom website using the link below and/or by using the telephone numbers listed below to access the meeting by audio only.  

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 388 993 7421
Passcode: 822755

Dial by your location

        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 929 436 2866 US (New York)
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 388 993 7421
Passcode: 822755


Francis & Jacqueline Mish (Continued from 12/9/21 Meeting)
335 Sylvania Ave., Block 30 Lot 3

Original zoning application and town denial letter
Revised engineering review letter from T&M Associates
Survey of the property
Photos of current and proposed
Revised architectural plans

Fred & Laurie Schoenhut
310 Sylvania Ave,, Block 18 Lot 18

Planning Board Application
Zoning Denial
T&M Associates Letter 9/27/2021
T&M Associates Letter 1/10/2022
Architectural Drawings 7/21/2021
Architectural Drawings 12/20/2021
Average Setback Survey 3/1/2021
Average Setback Survey 12/7/2021
Boundary & Topographic Survey 11/6/2020

Kenneth & Jennifer Sutphin
212 Lincoln Ave., Block 33 Lot 15

Planning Board Application
FWH Associates Letter 6/22/2021
Survey with Proposed Renderings
Aerial Exhibit
Variance Map
Variance Plan
Variance Drawings

Planning Board Application Information
2004 Avon-By-The-Sea Master Plan
2018 Avon-By-The-Sea Master Pan Reexamination Report

2022 Planning Board Meeting Dates

In accordance with the rules and regulations of the Open Public Meetings Law, please be advised of the following 2022 Avon-By-The-Sea Planning Board meeting dates.  The location of all meetings is the Avon Gym, 301 Main St., however as of January, 2022 all meetings will be held by means of electronic equipment only until further notice.  2022 Avon-By-The-Sea Planning Board meetings will be held on the second Thursday of the month at 7:00 PM.

January 13 Canceled    
January 25
February 10 to begin at 6 PM instead of 7 PM
March 10        
April 14        
May 12        
June 9             
July 14
August 1
September 8
October 13
November 10
December 8

Avon Planning Board is formed under New Jersey Statute 40-55D. This statute is usually referred to as the Municipal Land Use Law of New Jersey (MLUL). This law allows Municipalities to establish boards in each community to make rules and decisions in regard to local land use. This state law (MLUL) provides for two boards known as the:

1. Municipal Planning Board
2. Zoning Board of Adjustment

In many small municipalities in New Jersey, such as Avon, the MLUL permits towns to combine the two boards into one board. This is what we have in Avon. One board called the Avon Planning Board that acts as both the Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

When they act as a Planning Board, you can summarize the activities as a board of “permitted activities.” As a Planning Board, their essential duties are to deal with policy (the Master Plan), and the implementation of that policy through site plans and subdivision activities.

When acting as a Zoning Board, on the other hand, they become known as the board of uses not allowed. This is when they deal with the issuance of variances that are related to the town’s zoning ordinance, the Avon Land Development Ordinance.

Thus, the Avon Planning Board on one hand is a policy maker, and on the other hand it must assume the role of and act as an adjudicator.

The Avon Planning Board is comprised of eleven members, nine regular members and two alternate members. The terms of the members vary from two years to four years. The board meets at 7 PM on the second Thursday of each month when it has applications that require a hearing.

The majority of the work of the Avon Planning Board is the hearing of appeals for variances. This occurs when an individual requests a Building Permit from the Construction Code Official, and the application is rejected because the applicant has requested to do something not allowed by the Avon Land Development Ordinance. In this case, the applicant has the right to appeal this decision to the Avon Planning Board and request a Variance, which is a petition to do something not allowed by the Land Development Ordinance.

After completing the application procedure, the applicant is given a date for a hearing before the Planning Board. At this hearing the applicant will present the case to the board. The board will then make a decision to allow, or not to allow the variance.

All Planning Board meetings are open to the public and every hearing has a time for the public to speak. If any members of the public are interested in a particular application that is being heard they may attend the meeting and ask questions, or make their feelings known to the board. This is the time that board members are made aware of the concerns, feelings, support for, or opposition to an application by the members of the public, other property owners, and/or neighbors of the applicant.

Avon Planning Board Members

  • Sheila Sullivan, Planning Board Secretary
  • Richard Maloney, Chairman
  • Teresa Egan, Vice Chairman
  • Ed Bonanno, Mayor
  • Robert Mahon, Commissioner
  • Mark Kitrick, Attorney
  • Michael Davey, Regular Member
  • Vincent Ernst, Regular Member
  • Marie Kenny, Regular Member
  • Jack Ryan, Regular Member
  • Calvin Talmage, Regular Member
  • Sandra McLaughlin, Alternate 1
  • Francis McGovern, Alternate 2
  • Joseph Oldakowski, Alternate 3
  • Steve Mazouat, Alternate 4